Beautiful Ciara Covers #legend Magazine Talks Music, Modeling, Motherhood and Making It All Work.

Dress by Serkan Cura Couture, boots by Saint Laurent, gloves by Majesty Black

Here is portion of the interview:

You’ve worked with Keds. How did that come about?

I am part of their Ladies First campaign. Ladies First since 1916 is their motto and it’s been really, really fun being part of the campaign with Tori Kelly and Allison Williams. Obviously the shoe itself I wore even as a ittle kid and it was surreal when they ended up asking me to become part of the campaign years later. It has been cool because it just shows you that your dreams can come true and that you’re able to do things like this. Nothing is better than collaborating with a brand that has a powerful message and, like I said, Ladies First is all those things. It’s a classic, timeless shoe.

So what’s your most exciting project right now?

Well, I’m making an album. That’s really exciting, it’s something I’m taking my time on. I want to make sure that I put myself in every part of it, all my creative thoughts, feelings, everything on this album. But I can’t say where I am in the process right now. I don’t want to mark a specific point but what’s important is that it will be something for the fans, whom I’m very grateful for. I’m not at a place where I’m ready to share the creative details because I want it to be special for my fans when I do share it. I want it to be exciting when it’s time for me to share it. I can’t wait for that day to come.

Tell us about your songwriting process? What has inspired your writing on the new album?

It can be anything. What’s so great about the inspiration is that it’s not planned. Sometimes you wake up one day and you feel a certain way, you go out and see something and you say, ‘Wow that’s so inspiring. I want to write about that’. Sometimes the music itself takes you to a different place and points you in a direction, writing-wise. There’s so many things that inspire me in the process. I think the best thing is to let it sink in for a minute, I think that’s really important.

And your son, Future Zahir, is growing up so fast. What’s the best thing about motherhood?

Motherhood, oh my gosh, it’s one of the best jobs in life. My family, my son and my husband, those are the things that keep me grounded and centred and there’s no better feeling than coming back and seeing him smile after a long day. You put him in a bath, you put him in bed, read a book, those moments are great to end the day and keeps life in perspective because all your child wants from you is love. They don’t care about a lot of the things we care about anyway. Being a mom is part of what motivates me in my every day life.

Read more Here

Leave a Reply

