‘Black-ish’ Star Yara Shahidi Explains Why She Plans to Defer College for ‘at Least a Year.’

Capture.PNG

Such a positive young lady…

Yara Shahidi explains to People the reason she put college on hod at least a year.

The teen actress, who plays Zoey Johnson on the ABC series, has her sights set on a prestigious four-year university (one of her top picks is Harvard), but is “planning on deferring at least a year,” she tells PEOPLE.

“I know when Malia Obama announced [she was deferring], she got a lot of slack, but I feel like what’s interesting is I know so many people that are deferring. It’s more than to just roam around or just sit down and stare at a wall, but it will also give me an opportunity to work,” Shahidi says. “I’ve been working more than half of my life and that’s always been balanced with school and all of the other responsibilities, so to have a year to focus on work and to focus on specified interests will be nice before I pick a career and choose what I want to study and my life path.”

Leave a Reply

