Young M.A.’s Interview With Elle Magazine Talks About Femininity And More Ish.

Young M.A is the talent behind the single “OOOUUU”.. Don’t act like you don’t be hearing this song every time you turn on the radio.

Young M.A.  reveals some of her personal life in a recent interview with Elle Magazine including the topic femininity.

Here is portion of the interview:

About the “woman” thing. Conventional labels frustrate Young M.A, who’s tired of being filed under Female Rapper. “A lot of people look at me like, ‘Yo, you’re dope—I don’t even look at you as a female or gay rapper’,” she says. “I just see you as a dope artist in general.’

Even if you don’t know Young M.A by name, you’ve heard the addictive single she dropped earlier this year. The video for “Ooouuu” has earned over 81 million views on YouTube.

Last year Young M.A was approached about a spot on Empire. “At first I was excited,” she says. “But I had to really think about it and just really be like, is this a good opportunity?” The character Freda Gatz, a lip-gloss-wearing Brooklyn rapper, is for all intents and purposes a shiny Hollywood rendering of Young M.A. In the end, she decided to pass on being known “as this character on Empire, and not Young M.A from Brooklyn.”

The real Young M.A doesn’t do makeup, even on camera. In the throwback childhood photo she chose to be her first-ever Instagram post, she wears a full football uniform and a giant smile. “Sometimes I question why I was born this way. I never wanted to wear skirts or shoes, makeup, nails, dresses, or even wear my hair a certain way,” the caption reads. “I always wanted to wear sneakers, stud earrings, hair in a ponytail, and play with the boys. I never wanted to be a cheerleader, I wanted to play football. I always wanted to be the boy doll. I never understood it until I got older and realized this is just who I was meant to be and I am proud of who I am.”

Read more Here.

Leave a Reply

