Kendrick Lamar Talks About Ghostwriters, ‘Humble’ And More In Interview With Rolling Stone.

kendrick lamar the humble king rolling stone cover

Just recently Kendrick released his new video with Rihanna ‘Loyalty’ which stays on heavy rotation.

Kendrick does a recent interview with Rollingstone talks about rappers having ghost writers and more shit. Here is portion of the interview:

Other than a few lyrics, you’ve been quiet about Donald Trump. Why?
I mean, it’s like beating a dead horse. We already know what it is. Are we gonna keep talking about it or are we gonna take action? You just get to a point where you’re tired of talking about it. It weighs you down and it drains your energy when you’re speaking about something or someone that’s completely ridiculous. So, on and off the album, I took it upon myself to take action in my own community. On the record, I made an action to not speak about what’s going on in the world or the places they put us in. Speak on self; reflection of self first. That’s where the initial change will start from.

If it turned out that you somehow had a ghostwriter, people would really want to meet that guy.
[Laughs] You’re right.

Every time you open your mouth to rhyme, you have to uphold that reputation, live up to your own boasts. How do you deal with that?
Well, that’s the challenge that keeps me going. Can I outdo myself again? Can I make a better rhyme than I made last time? That’s the whole chase. If that wasn’t there, then I’d have stopped after good kid, after I had my first platinum album. But, you know, you see Jay-Z [chuckles]. He’s a billionaire. You see Dr. Dre. Jay is still on his pen game, because it’s always a chase to see if you’re not only still true to the culture, but still can generate a creative process that’s organic for you, that can challenge yourself.

Do you ever worry about running out of words?
Nah, man. I can’t even think about that. Not now. Not right now. Definitely not.

How did Bono end up on the song “XXX.”?
We had a [different] record we were supposed to be doing together. He sent it over, I laid some ideas to it, and we didn’t know where it was going. I just happened to have an album coming out, so I just asked him, like, “Yo, would you do me this honor of letting me use this record, use this idea that I want to put together because I’m hearing a certain type of 808, a certain drum to it.” And he was open to it.

Leave a Reply

